01942 747818

Billinge Road, Wigan, Lancashire WN3 6BL


Highfield St Matthew's C of E Primary School

Let Your Light Shine



Foundation Stage

At Highfield St Matthew's we follow the Early Adopter Framework (2020). We will be using the new Early Learning Goals to assess your children at the end of the Reception year. The Foundation Stage curriculum is designed specifically for pupils aged 3-5 years. It consists of 7 areas of learning. These are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language, Literacy, Mathematics, Expressive arts and Design, Physical Development, and Understanding the World.  Weaving throughout the EYFS curriculum are three Characteristics of Effective Learning.

  • playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’
  • active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements
  • creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

These elements underpin how we reflect on each child’s development and adjust our practice accordingly. Supporting children in their individual learning behaviour and observing the context of children’s play is essential. We build on previous knowledge, from home and pre school settings and take each child’s learning and development forward by providing opportunities where every child feels valued and can succeed in an atmosphere of care and trust. 

National Curriculum

We follow the National Curriculum 2014 which consists of 10 subjects in the Primary Phase – English, Mathematics, Science, Design & Technology, History, Geography, Art & Design, Music, Physical Education and Computing.


We also teach Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE) in every year group and French in Key Stage 2.

Our Long Term Plans provide an overview for each subject for each year group.

Please see the following complete parent guide to the National curriculum.