Scroll to content
Highfield St. Matthew's Church of England Primary School home page

Highfield St. Matthew's
Church of England Primary School


Hello and a big welcome to the Governor page of the school website on behalf of all the Governors within school.


As Governors we intend to develop our page over the forthcoming months to provide further information on the governance within our school.


Joy Oliveros

Chair of Governors

Our School Governors


The Local Governing Body of Highfield St Matthew's CE Primary School plays a crucial role in the life and work of our school. It is made up of volunteers from the local and wider community, plus the Headteacher and a member of staff. The role of the Local Governing Body is defined in its constitution.


Our school is part of the Liverpool Diocesan School Trust (LDST), a multi academy trust led by Liverpool Diocese which, “welcomes young people of all faiths and none and is committed to providing each of them with a high quality education and environment where Christian values and principles permeate all that is done”. More information on LDST can be found on the school website and at


The main work of the Local Governing Body is outlined below:


  • Acting as a critical friend to the school and being accountable for its decisions.
  • Continuously developing the partnership with parents, carers and pupils and seeking their views to help the Governing Body, Senior Leadership Team and all staff in moving the school forward.
  • Establishing the strategic direction of the school by ensuring there is clarity of vision, values and objectives.
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with appropriate priorities and targets.
  • Ensuring accountability by appointing and performance managing the Head Teacher.
  • Monitoring the educational performance of the school and progress towards agreed targets.
  • Contributing to the school’s self-evaluation.
  • Overseeing financial performance by setting the budget, monitoring spending against the budget and ensuring money is well spent and value for money is obtained.


Executive Headteacher: Mrs Alison Barron

Head of School: Mrs Jennifer Kilshaw

Chair of Governors: Mrs Joy Oliveros 

Clerk to the Governors: Ms Charlotte Farnworth

GovernorCategoryTerm of Office StartTerm of Office EndAppointing BodyBusiness/Other Declared Interests
Modupe AkinolaFoundation Governor23.09.2222.09.26PCC/LDST 
Alison BarronHeadteacher20.04.20-Ex OfficioExecutive Headteacher - Bishop Martin CE Primary, Skelmersdale
Lee EdwardsStaff Governor10.02.2209.02.26Elected by staff & approved by LDSTGovernor - St James CE Primary, Worsley Mesnes
Anita FathFoundation Governor28.09.2327.09.27PCC/LDST 
Claire HalliwellParent Governor14.06.2313.06.27Elected by parents & approved by LDST 
Suzie McMullenFoundation Governor21.07.2220.07.26PCC/LDST 
Sarah MurphyCo-opted20.05.2219.05.26LGB/LDST 
Joy OliverosFoundation Governor/Chair of Governors19.10.2018.10.24PCC/LDST 
Rev'd Sam SwanFoundation Governor05.06.23-Ex Officio 
Andrea WoodFoundation Governor05.11.1904.11.23PCC/LDST 


Andrew Bond

Foundation Governor31.10.2230.10.26 (resigned Jun 23)PCC/LDST 


Elizabeth Gaskell

Foundation Governor01.09.2231.08.26 (resigned Jun 23)PCC/LDST



Neil Lockwood

Co-opted 05.11.1904.11.23 (resigned Sep 23)LGB/LDST 


Kay East

Parent Governor25.05.2224.05.26 (resigned Jan 23)Elected by parents & approved by LDST 


Anthony Ball

Parent Governor19.10.2018.10.24Elected by parents & approved by LDST 


Governor's attendance 2023-24

Highfield St. Matthew's Church of England Primary School logo

Contact Us

Billinge Road,
Wigan, Liverpool, WN3 6BL

Telephone: 01942 747818